top of page

Texturing


Getting to know the workflow between Maya, Mudbox and Photoshop is the difficult part.

My character model has the following objects 1. hair/eyebrows 2. head

3. eyes

4. tshirt

5. arm x2

6. dungarees

7. legx2

8. shoex2 I will have a png file for colour(diffuse map), glossiness(specular map) and texture (normal/bump map). That is three png's for each. (or psd's as these automatically update)

I have imported the unwrapped uv maps for each object into photoshop and have made test diffuse maps. The model is ready for Mudbox where I will add more paint to the diffuse maps and create specular and normal maps. The confusing part for me is the sheer volume of files. Organising them and deleting the ones that are no longer needed is important.

Choosing a Shader ?

I have been throwing lamberts on all the objects as placeholders, but lamberts do not have specular settings. I tried Material_x for the eyeballs which allows for a glossy effect, but then that seems to be causing a problem in mudbox.

I will use Blinn textures for now.

I made a tillable jean texture to use on the dungarees

mudbox test

Mudbox


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page